Each year a team of students is elected to lead your Students' Union, setting the agenda for the activities that the Students' Union does over the next academic year.

5 Sabbaticals

Sabbaticals are paid positions responsible for overseeing the policy and activity zones, and setting the direction for the Students' Union each academic year. They oversee and support the Student Leaders and other voluntary officers in their roles throughout the year.

22 Student Officers

Student Officers are responsible for running and representing specific groups within the Students' Union. These range from faculty groups to the media groups to international and postgraduate students. Some roles, such as the Postgraduate Officer, are only open to students within that specific group.

4 Student Trustees

The Trustee roles are voluntary, unpaid positions. The officers in this role will be entrusted, together with other trustees, overall responsibility for the work that the Students' Union undertakes. They focus on the strategic direction of the Students' Union, ensuring that the Union creates and implements strategies that meet its objectives.

16 Senators

Union Senators are elected to reflect the different student bodies that make up the membership of the Students' Union. Any current student at the University of Southampton can become a member of Senate and represent the overall student body on the issues debated at Senate.


Back to top

Ella Foxhall

Ella Foxhall

Vice President Activities

Lottie James

Lottie James

Vice President Education and Democracy

Matthew Smith

Matthew Smith

Vice President Sports

Savanna Cutts

Savanna Cutts

Vice President Welfare and Community

Student Officers

Back to top

  • Alice Chadwick

    Arts and Humanities Faculty Officer

  • Kai Major

    Athletic Union Officer

  • Conway Conway

    Avenue Officer

  • Mahnoor Ahmed

    BAME Officer

  • Leigh-Anne Tyler

    Disabilities Officer

  • Tomasz Duliban

    Engineering and Physical Sciences Faculty Officer

  • Thomas Phipps

    Enterprise Officer

  • Ryan Couchman-Sawyer

    Environment and Life Sciences Faculty Officer

  • Evelyn Chen

    Halls Officer

  • John Boddu

    International Officer

  • Casie Osborne

    Intramural Officer

  • Aya El-Khoury

    Joint Honours Officer

  • Jamie Norton

    LGBT+ Officer

  • Deborah Mathew

    Medicine Faculty Officer (MedSoc Vice President)

  • Vandita Rai

    Performing Arts Officer

  • Ellen Atayee-Bennett

    Social Science Postgraduate Research Officer

  • Yasmine Gendy

    Social Sciences Faculty Officer

  • Fatima Ali

    Sustainability Officer

  • Jessica Adams

    UHS Officer

  • Carys Robbins

    Volunteering and Fundraising Officer

  • Joseph Spencer

    Wellbeing Officer

  • Francesca Ward

    Women Officer

Student Trustees

Back to top

  • Corin Holloway

    Student Trustee

  • Jessy Marin

    Student Trustee

  • Rishi-Nayan Varodaria

    Student Trustee

  • James Williams

    Student Trustee


Back to top

  • Georgios Ntoules

    Chair of Senate

  • Rahul Anand


  • Thomas Andresen


  • Harry Bull


  • Ethan Chiu


  • Jad Dao


  • Aiden Graham


  • Alice Harbor-Collins


  • Hussein Al Hashimi


  • Alamea John


  • Behrad Koohy


  • Kayla-Rey O'Neil


  • Salvador Quintana Montano


  • Qiuxia Tan


  • Sabiqa Umer


  • Wang Wong