Road Cycling

Welcome to SURC, the best road cycling experience you can have during your time at university. We have a wide range of abilities and you will find something to suit you. Our regular club rides are on Wednesday afternoons and Sunday mornings. Wednesday rides meet at 1:45pm in North Baddesley. Sunday rides meet at 9am at the Shell garage at the top of the Avenue. These rides continue throughout the year and usually have at least two groups to cater for different abilities. Other training opportunities include hill rep sessions, chaingangs and super-cheap spinning sessions! There is also the opportunity to give track cycling a go.

If you have ever watched the cycling at the Olympics and fancied yourself as the next Geraint Thomas or Lizzie Deignan, then now is your chance! We run track sessions during the first semester and you do not even need your own bike at uni to take part! We are a reasonably sized club with a friendly atmosphere and we always like new members.

If you have any questions or want to get involved straight away then send us an email to surc@soton.ac.uk.

About Road Cycling

Membership Fee Information

Due to the current COVID-19 situation, memberships are not available to purchase until further notice

Photo Gallery

The Committee

All clubs and societies within the Students' Union are run entirely by students. The student committee for Road Cycling this year are:

  • Luke Dudley
    Indoor Training Secretary
  • Rosemary Simmons
    Ladies' Captain
  • Joseph Andrew
  • Jordan Giles
  • Samuel Wood
    Social and Welfare Secretary
  • Christopher Tomsett
    Track Secretary
  • Lili McLean
  • Oliver Hurdle
    Vice President
  • George McHattie