Southampton Swing Dancers

We are a new society for lindy hop at the University of Southampton. Lindy hop is a fun and stylish partner dance with great swing music. Join us and learn cool moves, meet lovely people and enjoy the dance floor.

About Southampton Swing Dancers

Every Wednesday at the Union Cafe (SUSU building) during term-time:
General Level Class: 5.30pm-6.30pm
Practice: 6.30pm-7.00pm

Membership is £9 for the year. Buy membership online through the SUSU box office: https://boxoffice.susu.org/view/322/memberships
Each class is £3 for members and £4 for non-members.

We have regular social dancing in a relaxed and fun environment at The Shooting Star. Come along if you want to find out more about what we do, if you want to practice dancing, or if you want to have a drink and enjoy jazz music.

Lindy hop classes for all levels are offered by The Lindy Club. They also organize regular socials in Southampton and the nearby area. www.thelindyclub.co.uk/

We go to workshops and socials in other cities. Let us know if you want to join or have an idea for the next trip!

Like our Facebook Page to keep updated!

Membership Fee Information

These are the current membership fees offered by Southampton Swing Dancers, although many clubs and societies offer a free period for new members to try out their activities.

NameCostValid PeriodDetailsJoin
Year Membership £926/09/2018 - 24/07/2019Membership allows you to receive a £1 discount on weekly lindy hop classes. Workshops thoughout the year will be discounted as well. Membership will receive a card which will be used to collect stamps from weekly classes and the 10th will be free. Members can vote in the EGM and AGM and can run for positions on committee. Buy Now

Photo Gallery

The Committee

All clubs and societies within the Students' Union are run entirely by students. The student committee for Southampton Swing Dancers this year are:

  • Juraj Mihalik
  • Lynn De La Fosse
    Publicity Officer
  • Evie Morris
  • Kyra Bendel