Korfball is a mixed gender Dutch sport with similarities to basketball and netball. SUKC was established in 2012 by a handful of players who already knew the sport. Within a year, they had assembled and trained up a cohort of Spartans - all new to the sport - and surprised everyone by finishing 5th at Nationals.

Boosted by its early success, SUKC's membership exploded in 2014 with a second team already filling out. The Spartans climbed to 3rd place at Nationals, with our very own Nikesh Patel voted as player of the tournament. An incredible achievement for someone who had started just a year ago. Our Spartan pros, Alex Bell and Kate Hotton, were also called up to represent England at the U21 European Championships. With new members joining every year, SUKC keeps going form strength to strength.

Fancy yourself as a Spartan? Want to contribute to 2019/20's success? We'll train you up - no prior experience is required.

Contact us on korfball@soton.ac.uk or get in touch through our Facebook and Twitter accounts.

About Korfball

Membership Fee Information

These are the current membership fees offered by Korfball, although many clubs and societies offer a free period for new members to try out their activities.

Please note that some memberships of this group may also require you to purchase Sport & Wellbeing membership from the University of Southampton in order to use the relevant sport facilities
You must be a member of the Students' Union to join a club or society
NameCostValid PeriodDetails
Korfball Full Year Membership£6002/10/2019 - 31/08/2020Your membership includes all travel to local leagues, reduced rates on tournaments and tours, coaching every week, opportunity to do additional korfball reffing courses, all your required affiliations to the EKA, entry to BUCS and a social shirt!

Photo Gallery

The Committee

All clubs and societies within the Students' Union are run entirely by students. The student committee for Korfball this year are:

  • Peter Birley
    1st Team Captain
  • Anna Marshall
    2nd Team Captain
  • Jessica Illingworth
    Media and Fundraising
  • Alexandra Thomas
  • Megan Gaen
  • Jack Bowe
    Social Secretary
  • Charles Walker
    Social Secretary
  • Kulwinder Vig
  • Thomas Ruxton