Implement a No Detriment Policy or Safety Net for the 2020/21 Academic Year at the University of Southampton

Jonathan McCabe submitted on 01/02/2021 09:00

Closed on 07/02/2021 09:00


Hold a Student Union Senate meeting for SUSU to lobby the University of Southampton to implement a safety net/non-detriment policy for the 2020/21 academic year.


The University is going through unprecedented times and so are the students. While I recognise that the university is doing as much as possible to make this year's learning experience as close to "normal" as possible, this is still not enough to expect students to produce the same quality of work.


These last ten months have been a huge challenge for all, and this is having an impact on our work, with or without the correct resources. In some cases, some students have felt that they have not had adequate access to the resources required to complete their degree and I recognise it is hard for the University of Southampton to match this at present.


However, there has been a universal issue in the way we learn. It is much easier to learn efficiently by going to lectures, coming home, consolidating that work, and then having some free time to relax and prepare for the next day of learning.


COVID-19 has presented a nightmarish situation compared to this. After speaking to several students I can confirm that they share my experience of waking up, rolling merely feet in a small room from bed to desk, with no separation between work and rest, seeing loved ones suffer from the pandemic we find ourselves in, whether through our own relatives struggling, or by seeing our friends struggle in the same situation, as well as feeling alone and struggling to complete the work in the same time frame as would be normal without any of these extenuating circumstances.


While it is clear that the university is trying to offer the highest quality of education possible, with the highest diligence still given to each degree to match its accreditation, students are simply unable to perform at the same level as previous years with the surrounding circumstances, even if no one we know has been directly infected with this terrible virus.


This is not a plea to say the University has not done all it can to reopen facilities, nor an attempt to cheat ourselves a degree. This is a cry for help from the students of the University of Southampton, asking the powers-that-be to realise we are not in a situation to have the same expected of us as previous years, and that our mental health in this situation does not allow us to work to the same standards.


Therefore, we the students, plead the University of Southampton to seriously reconsider its decision to not implement any form of no detriment policy or safety net for its students.


If successful, this petition will be taken to the Students' Union's Sentate meeting on Thursday 18 February.

Current Signatories 312/250

Anna Abarian
Katherine Adams
Syeda Akbar
Amber Akinci
Kazi Alamgir
Efe Alatli
Christina Arena
Anna Armstrong
Lucy Auger
Shantanu Awasthi
Ibrahim Aziz
Annalise Baber
Daniel Bacon
Miles Bailey
Ramandeep Bains
Emmanuel Bakare
Charles Baldock
Alice Barber
Oliver Baroni-Harrison
Yazmin Bath
Annellie Beare
Reece Beckett
Hannah Begum
Joshua Bellamy
Basil Bennett Batov
Akshay Biju
Ella Bishop
Suraya Blissett
Kardelen Bolkan
Cristin-Bianca Botea
Aya Boucheneb
Mya Boulton
Jacky Bradford
Felix Bradley
Sebastian Bramah
Alex Brewster
Freyja Britton
Gustav Brondumbo-Therkildsen
Andrew Brooks
Lavinia Bryer
Rachel Buchanan
Alessandra Caprera
Linus Carey
Ailsa Carlaw
Jessica Carr
Laura Castanheira
Benedict Caverhill
Joseph Chan
Jack Charles
Louise Chase
Callum Chivers
Arantsha Colaco
Bethan Collins
Euan Cook
Orin Cooley-Greene
Cara Cooper
Bianca-Georgiana Corbu
Isabel Covey
Lucy Cowham
Olivia Crawley
Tomasz Czerniawski
Megan Dale
Alya Dardouk
Tessa Davies
Kai Davis
Sarah Davis
Paddy Deegan
Olivia Dellar
Thomas Dent
Sunaina Desai
Teresa Diaz-Pozo
Petar Dimitrov
Jacob Dodge
Ezra Dorland
Caleb Dos Santos Peres Mota
Sophie Douglas
Lois Downes
Jack Draper
Oliver Dunmore
Beth Dyson
Thomas Edmunds
Benith Edward
Katherine Evans
Natasha Evans
Lucy Eyre
Charlotte Faulkner
Joseph Fernandes
Rehana Fernandopulle
Paola Ferri
Kendall Field-Pellow
Gabrielle Fields
Cameron Finlay
Sean Firth
Stephanous Fokai
Emma Foster
Katrina Fountain
Seren Fowler
Oshi Francomb
Joseph Gangar
Xiangyu Gao
Megan Gately
Mathew Georgiou
Iulian-Stefan Ghiban
Samuel Goje
Rebecca Golding
James Goodridge
Daisy Gordon
Nathan Gorgulu
Harry Gowers
Charlotte Graham
Martins Gruntmanis-Grunte
Semral Halil
Nathan Hamer
Lewis Hawkins
Jenna Hayton
Shaun Hickman
Peter Higman
Amelia Hikin
Daniel Hobbs
Georgina Holmes
Lauren Hood
William Hoque
Nicholas Horsman
Taura Hudson
Thomas Humphreys
Chloe Hunter-Rea
Hassan Hussain
James Hyde
Isra Ilyas
Robert-Paul Iordache
Benjamin Irwin
Tanya Izon
Alex James
Kurt James
Jay Jarrett
Nadine Jefferies
Alistair Jenkins
Sarah Jervis
Edward Jewell
Ben Johnson
Jasmine Jones
Robin Jones
Saleem Kaa
Hannah Kane
Milo Kavanagh
Charlie Kebell
Imogen Kelly-Powell
Abbey Kemp
Alice Kennedy
Hamzah Khalid
Maleha Khan
Chloe Kibble
Jack King
Caleb Kirkpatrick
Amy Knight
Adetoye Kolaru
Felicia Kolawole
Nina Krumbacher
Megan Laing
Emily Larsen
Auritro Latif
Carol Leader
Fraser Leonard
Georgia Levine
Aaron Lewis
Victoria Lewis
Joanne Lisney
April Logan
Sarah Lowther
Pok Lui
Alice MacArthur
James MacDonald
Evan MacKey
Charlie Mair
Bentley Malanaphy
Konstantinos Malatestas
Jakub Markiewicz
Katherine Marris
Hannah Martin
Tamzin Martin
Lucille Martin-Williams
Ned Mathews
Jonathan McCabe
Isaac McDermott
Maddison McGowan
Ashim Mehta
Holly Mepham
Mihai Merlas
Ioannis Mettas
Sabine Middleton
Anca Milea
Saule Miškinyte
James Mitchell
Cerys Moore
Elizabeth Moore
Katie Murfitt
Monaliisa Murs
Luke Myers
Pranav Nagarajan
Avanthika Nanda Sanjay
Alessandro Nerla
Wing Ng
Joseph Nichols
Karthik Nooli
Georgina Norton
Jamie Norton
Julio Nunes Coelho
Tasnim Nurullah
Joshua O'Donnell
Oluwaseyi Ogunbusola
Lisa Opoku
Christopher Orbizo
Rebecca Ormsby
Scarlett Orr
Jack Parmenter
Harry Parsons
Rachelle Patrick
Callum Paxton
Samuel Pegg
Karina Pereira
Elliott Petersen
Charlie Peterson
Beatrice Petkeviciute
Jakob Philbrick
Martin Plant
Daria Poma Kostik
Oskar Post
Harriet Powell
Caitlin Price
Ray Price
Mario Pulze
Ella Quick
Justin Rai
Saravanan Ramachandran
Anne Ranasinghe
Athavan Ravinthran
William Redmond-Lyon
Fiona Reynolds
Lena Riaud-Langouet
Daniel Richards
Thomas Roe
Jade Rogers
Nisah Rowe
William Rowling
Reggie Roy
Lauren Rynsburger
Pedro Santana Prates
Andrei Sarandi
Joseph Schaefer
Bethany Shaw
Janya Singh
Manbir Singh
Klairi Siotou
Nirusan Sivatharan
Amelia Smith
Ethan Smith
Fraser Smith
Joshua Smith
Laura Smith
Caitlin Smyth-Jones
Joseph Spencer
Nirushaan Srithar
Katherine Stanley
Phoebe Stembridge
Isobel Steventon-Quilty
Adam Sykes
Ibolya Szenes
Raden Taha
Chris Taperell
Ammar Tarajia
Alfred Taylor
J Michael Tennant
Rohan Thakrar
Harry Thomas
Nathan Thomas
George Thompson
Amelia Thurgood
Olivia Towner
Eth Townsend
Immy Tozer
Zoey Tuckwood
Aylin Turk
Mahim Uddin
George Vary
Anan Venkatesh
Emma Vernon
Tyler Vincent
Ivan Voronevski
James Wald
David Wan
Catrin Ward
Ellen Ward
Joshua Watkins
Emily Wayland
Georgia Wilkinson
Lotta Wilkinson
Dafydd Williams
Eric Williams
Lux Williams
Nia Williams
Joseph Willmott
Megan Windsor
Martyna Winiarska
Adam Wright
Clare Wright
Vyara Yazadzhiyan
Leann Yfrah